Bus Stop Wisdom

        Yesterday to me felt like it was going to be just like any other day. New day same crap. But it wasn’t, the universe wanted it to be more than that. You see, I went to the clinic to have my skin test checked. I was expecting to be there for at least 30 mins but it was a simple glance and I was sent on my way. Now, where I live the bus runs only every hour, and I had a whole hour to wait, So I put on a podcast and said maybe the time will pass fast. As I was listening to my podcast an older lady walked over. At first I thought nothing of it, just another person waiting for the bus. I was so wrong. She started a conversation with me and it began with asking me if I was doing school work. (I had been taking notes on my podcast). I replied “No I’m on break from college”. Now normally that would have been the end of a conversation for me. But not in this case; it turned into a 40 min conversation and to me it felt like 5 mins. In those minutes I learned about her battles and demons, I learned how she loves her children unconditionally. Most of all I learned about how humble she is even though she had seen and done so much.
        One thing that really stuck with me from our talk was that she had experienced struggle (drug & alcohol addiction) and loss (her parents & son), yet she never marveled in that struggle, she never used her encounters as an excuse. Instead she kept going. She survived. She told me she had been clean for 30 years. My mind was blown because in that 30 years she had lost her son and her parents and NOT once had she turned back to the drugs or alcohol. She stayed clean and carried on. I’ve experienced loss and I wasn’t that strong. I broke apart and allowed myself to wallow in self-pity. You see that one conversation showed me just how much we can actually handle when we remember to “trust that life will take you where you need to go”. That affirmation came from the podcast on abundance by Rachel Brathen. It fit so perfectly because I am a control freak and I need to control everything. But then again there are so many things that you can’t control. You can’t control when people die. All you can control is how you allow it impact your life. She chose to continue on and to be strong. She chose to be HUMBLE. She chose to continue on caring for her family and the environment (she never liters), she chose LOVE. And on that day she chose to share her story with me. A story I will never forget. A story that will always remind me that battles will always occur but if I trust that the universe will meet my efforts and will take me where I need to go then I will be okay and I will continue to live in love.
Here’s my message; Shit happens, Life happens, but don’t let it define you, carry on living in love, and trust that you will always end up where you need to go. And also wisdom can be found in an older generation so listen to what they have to say. It might just change your life.

img_2806

Be at Peace & Live in Love

One thought on “Bus Stop Wisdom

Leave a Reply

