The Death of A Friendship 

The death of a friendship can be the most nerve racking thing that has ever happened. I mean what part of losing a friend isn’t sad. The saddest friendships to lose are the ones when you actually gave a shit and tried really hard to make it work. But I the end you both knew that it wouldn’t work out; there were too many other factors keeping you guys apart.
I’ve experienced the death of many friendships. The worst part is that when my first friendship ended way back when I thought that losing friends would never be that painful again.

And I was wrong!

Not only is each time sad and often painful; but the friendships that seemed to have lasted the longest are the ones that often scar you the most. 


I’ve lost many friends that I have considered to be my closets and the question that came to me every time was what did I do wrong? 


Did I not care enough?

Did I talk to them enough?

What could I have done differently?

But the honest truth is that there was nothing that I could have done differently. With each friendship my self and many people like me, we put ourselves out there and expect the other person to do the same. And sadly that isn’t always what happens. 

But I am lucky enough to say my friendships didn’t all end in some major tragic drama that will haunt me for the rest of my life.

Nope, all of my mines slowly died on their own. It was as if we were in the ocean on two different rafts that began to slowly drift away from each other. And it happened so slow that neither one of us even knew that it was happening. Each of my friendships that perished had gotten to a point when I couldn’t even remember the last time I had text or even thought about them. To me it because the universes way of showing me that our friendship was supposed to a message and I received the message and now it was time to move on. 

I’m not saying that when a friendship dies you have to turn into a cold-hearted mega bitch. 


But what I am saying is that it’s okay to let friendships die. It’s natural and apart of life. Be happy for the moments you shared that were good. But don’t try to force something that just wasn’t meant to be. And it’s okay to say a casual hello or have a conversation when you see them. 

Deaths of a friendship don’t always have to be sad. 
~Be brave wild one~

Xoxo Marley ✌️️💖😊

Leave a Reply

